Nunavut is Canada's newest and largest territory, and is located in the eastern Arctic portion of Canada. Nunavut stretches from the Canadian Arctic Archipelago to the 60th parallel. At approximately 3 million sq. km, Nunavut includes one fifth of the land mass of Canada, and stretches over three time zones. It takes about 3 hours to cross Nunavut by jet. (Map)

Nunavut came into being on April 1, 1999. When the Inuit land claims in the eastern Arctic were settled, part of the agreement was that Parliament would pass the Nunavut Act, which split the existing Northwest Territories and created the new territory called Nunavut.

"Nunavut" means "our land" in Inuktitut. The total population of the territory is about 26,000. This means that for every person in Nunavut, there is about 115 sq. km of land.

About 86% of the population of Nunavut is Inuit. Under the Nunavut Land Claims Final Agreement, Inuit beneficiaries hold title to 350,000 sq. km (136,000 sq. miles) of land.

Neat Stuff You Probably Didn't Know

* You can't drive to Nunavut. There are no roads leading into this territory, and only about 29 km of roads outside the communities of Nunavut. You can fly into Nunavut from Ottawa, Montreal, Winnipeg, and Yellowknife.

* It's a land of winter. Winter lasts about 8 months in Nunavut and there's snow on the ground from early October until at least the end of May, and into June in many areas. Small wonder some of our favourite activities are snowmobiling, and hockey!

* The capital of Nunavut is Iqaluit, located on one of the world's largest islands, Baffin Island. There are three main regions, Baffin (also called Qikiqtaaluk), Kivalliq, and Kitikmeot. Rankin Inlet is the regional center for the Kivalliq Region.